Stay Loyal to Your Taste

So what if you are 26 and love Disney movies! Who cares that you like to watch Rocky Horror during Christmas time? Go on and make a list of unseen black and white films that no one will watch with you. Over the years that I have fallen in love with films and I have noticed that it is always a common denominator in conversations with me. I have a tendency to love all types of film from the action packed B-movie, to the musical, to the cult followings of Tarantino. I opened myself up to watching anything and everything people suggested. Some I have realized I will never watch again (Requiem for a Dream or Splice), while others I have embarrassed into my vast range of favorites (Pulp Fiction or The Big Labowski).

One of my biggest pet peeves as an admirer of film for me is those who knock down a movie based on its category. Just because it is a musical doesn’t mean you will hate it. You might come to find that there is a particular story that gains your interest behind the songs. Or that the humor behind the predictable love stories in chick flicks actually tickles your soul. Classics, Comedy, Rom Com, Chick Flicks, Action Movies, Horrors, all types of films that are someones favorite and someone else hates.

I’m not saying to go out there and watch every movie you were ever initially turned off by. I am saying to appreciate the value that film maker put into their films. You have a particular taste in movies that you enjoy watching. Being open-minded is important but embarrassing and sharing your love for your genera is a lot more fun. I force my Dad to watch musicals all the time. He acts like he hates them, and he always will. That is ok because every time I see a musical that I know he would appreciate the simple fact that I force him to watch it with me. And lets just say that is the only time I get to say ‘I told you so’ to my Father.

Personally, I love the blockbusting tweenie trilogies like Hunger Games. I will go to a midnight showing! My mother and I did read the Twilight Saga and dressed in our best PJ’s to watch Breaking Dawn Part 2. Hold on tight to what you love about movies and go out of your comfort zone to see what else is out there. Movies are full of stories, emotions, artistic values, and creative actions that unite its viewers. Never again be misunderstood based on your taste. Value your loyalty and the commitment to other film lovers and their genres. Every film has its flair, all are loved by someone. Don’t be ashamed of your flair.

About Sam Whitmore

Originally from Massachusetts, I moved to Florida when I was younger. Now living in Lakeland, Fl I am 25 years old, and a Communication Arts major. I am also an award winning film director. My short film 'Sincerely Kati' won Best E for Everyone film in Love Your Shorts Festival in 2013. I love my 4 year old dog Emma Rose, she is a Fox Hound/Pointer mix. I spend my week days working as an administrator and weekends with my family in Lake Wales, FL. I have been blogging since college, and with a recent shift in my career path have decided to dive back into the webstories and share my thought to an audience. I am a story teller, and my favorite ways to express a great story is through a great movie.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in Coming Soon, movie thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment